View Cart View Cart  |  Wish List  |  Checkout

madmoves
HABB "open post"
January 23, 2008 06:28PM
Hey coach can you tell me alittle about you open post offense. I just startedrunnign and enjoying putting it together I would just like to hear some ideas on how they run their open post.
HABB
Re: HABB "open post"
January 25, 2008 01:24PM
Madmoves, This is my first year runnning the open post and have really enjoyed running it. I've used it strictly as a motion offense instead of dictating play. I want players to pass and cut or pass and screen away. The things I work on the most with my kids are encouraging them to backcut (and finish to the rim) anytime the ball is dribbled at them or they are overplayed, attacking the middle of the floor off ball reversal, and setting and reading downscreens.

As is any offense, spacing is really important. All five players need to get outside the arc as quickly as possible. My team struggles when we have more than one cutter cutting through the post at a time and don't fill the five spots (point, wings, corners). I've stressed pausing prior to cutting or screening in order to keep the middle of the floor open.

I'd like to hear from some other coaches about what they're doing with the open post. I've heard "Coach N" knows a lot about the open post.
coachn
January 25, 2008 07:19PM
This is also my first year running the offense and I love it. We run 2 versions, 1 is only cutting with only a couple of rules:

1. Read the defense
2. On a pass from point to wing basket cut
- opposite wing cuts to the point and everyone else fills the open spots.
3. On a pass from wing to the corner we ball screen

The 2nd version is pass and screen away. On the screen there must be one player to the rim one away from the rim. We also screen the point on a pass from the wing to the corner instead of ball screen