View Cart View Cart  |  Wish List  |  Checkout

Coach Jay
Combining Read & React and Motion Offenses
September 10, 2008 09:46PM
I've been coaching youth and high school basketball for almost 20 years. This year I retired from coaching high school and I will be coaching my town's 7th grade boys travel team. I have always preferred coaching fundamentals and basic principles of smart team play. I focus on aggressive defensive and rebounding and fast break basketball, and in the half court I generally rely on motion offense principles with occasional elements of the Princeton offense (e.g., basket cut when teammate dribbles toward you) rather than set plays (though I use a favorite high post oriented continuity set for special situations or when the team seems to need some structure). I am intrigued by the read and react offense, and have researched it online but have not yet picked up the DVDs. I am starting to think about this coming season and am a little nervous about dramatically changing my half-court motion-based strategy, which I know so well and have coached successfully in the past and which I think provides a sound structure for teaching kids how to play the game the right way (triple threat, balance the court, move with a purpose when you don't have the ball, setting and using screens away from the ball, attack the basket, etc.) without being more familiar with the R&R offense. Based on my preliminary study of the R&R offense I am thinking about sticking with coaching general motion principles but also teaching the boys to follow the basic R&R rotation principles whenever a perimeter player drives to the basket. What do you think about this strategy of combining motion and R&R half-court offense for 7th grade boys? Thanks.
coachj444
Re: Combining Read & React and Motion Offenses
September 10, 2008 10:55PM