View Cart View Cart  |  Wish List  |  Checkout

FlexOff
Walberg's System
November 07, 2008 06:45PM
I am no expert on Vance Walberg's system, but I have been studying it for a year and a half now. I want to say this, I see this is as all you need. In reality, if you do his Daily 45, a defensive segment, 5 on 0 (for the offense, your zone offense and ob's) and scrimmage for 15-20 minutes, your team will improve, no matter what the age level. Kids will dribble, shoot, fastbreak, rebound, and defend, while staying in one system.

I hear all the Read and React talk, and guest what, if Walberg sold his video to Better Basketball, he'd be all over the television, with Calipari, Kellogg, Martin, and an entire region of California raving about the system. That's what it is, a system. The offense is just a piece.

Walberg spent 2 weeks with the Nets this summer, helping Lawrence Frank implement the offense into their team. People are caught up in the offense, the system is more than just the offense, its a style of play, and the beauty of it is, you can taylor it to you. Memphis and UMass play that Pack/Elbow Block grind you out half court defense, but they play this offense.

When you talk to Walberg, and any of the coaches in Cali that run the offense, you'll find they all have their own way of teaching the offense, but the drill are the constant.

This is basketball's version of the Spread Option, but if you wanna maximize it, use the drills everyday.

In closing, consider this....your point guard makes all the decisions in your offense. In this offense, all 4 players must know all the reads, and be able to make plays. Only other offense I know like that, was started here in NJ down at some Ivy League school. That's how you develop players.
coachj444
Re: Walberg's System
November 07, 2008 07:10PM
Great post. Does UMass use Walberg's 221 press as well or they only play a pack-style man to man defense?
FlexOff
November 12, 2008 12:35AM